Internet Resources

Index:

Bookstores Government Health & Nutrition
IA College & Universities Iowa Information Job Seeking
Magazines Newspapers Reference
Telephone Directories Television Stations Travel & Weather

 

Bookstores

Amazon.com (http://www.amazon.com/)

Barnes and Noble (http://www.barnesandnoble.com/)

Borders (http://www.borders.com/online/store/Home)

ClassBook.com (http://www.classbook.com/)

Wal-Mart (http://www.walmart.com/)

 

Federal Government

Government Departments

           U.S. Department of Agriculture (http://www.usda.gov/wps/portal/usdahome)

            U.S. Department of Commerce (http://www.commerce.gov/)

            U.S. Department of Defense (http://www.defenselink.mil/)

            U.S. Department of Education (http://www.ed.gov/index.jhtml)

            U.S. Department of Energy (http://www.energy.gov/)

            U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (http://www.os.dhhs.gov/)

            U.S. Department of Homeland Security (http://www.dhs.gov/index.shtm)

            U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (http://www.hud.gov/)

            U.S. Department of Interior (http://www.doi.gov/)

            U.S. Department of Justice (http://www.usdoj.gov/)

           U.S. Department of Labor (http://www.dol.gov/)

            U.S. Department of State (http://www.state.gov/)

            U.S. Department of Transportation (http://www.dot.gov/new/index.htm)

            U.S. Department of Treasury (http://www.ustreas.gov/)

            U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (http://www.va.gov/)

            Office of Management and Budget (http://www.whitehouse.gov/OMB/)

            U.S. House of Representatives (http://www.house.gov/)

            U.S. Senate (http://www.senate.gov/)

            White House (http://www.whitehouse.gov/)

Military

            Air Force (http://www.af.mil/)

            Army (http://www.army.mil/)

            Army National Guard (http://www.1800goguard.com/)

            Coast Guard (http://www.uscg.mil/)

            Marine Corps (http://www.marines.mil/Pages/Default.aspx)

            Navy (http://www.navy.mil/swf/index.asp)

Misc.

           Better Business Bureau (http://www.bbb.org/)

            Bureau of Labor Statistics (http://www.bls.gov/)

            Consumer Information Center (http://www.consumer.gov/)

            Federal Citizen Information Center (http://www.pueblo.gsa.gov/)

            Federal Bureau of Prisons (http://www.bop.gov/)

            GPO Access (http://www.gpoaccess.gov/multidb.html)

            THOMAS (Legislative information) (http://thomas.loc.gov/)

            U.S. Census Bureau (http://www.census.gov/)

            U.S. Military Postal Service Agency (http://hqdainet.army.mil/mpsa/)

 

Government Agencies

            Agency for International Development (http://www.usaid.gov/)

            Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) (https://www.cia.gov/)

            Consumer Product Safety Commission (http://www.cpsc.gov/)

            Environmental Protection Agency (http://www.epa.gov/)

            Federal Communications Commission (FCC) (http://www.fcc.gov/)

            Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) (http://www.fdic.gov/)

            Federal Election Commission (http://www.fec.gov/)

            Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) (http://www.fema.gov/)

            Federal Reserve System (http://www.federalreserve.gov/)

            Federal Trade Commission (http://www.ftc.gov/)

            Food and Drug Administration (FDA) (http://www.fda.gov/)

            General Services Administration (http://www.gsa.gov/)

            National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) (http://www.nasa.gov/)

            National Archives and Records Administration (http://www.nara.gov/)

            National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) (http://www.ntsb.gov/)

            Nuclear Regulatory Commission (http://www.nrc.gov/)

            Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation (http://www.pbgc.gov/)

            Securities and Exchange Commission (http://www.sec.gov/)

            Small Business Administration (http://www.sba.gov/)

            Smithsonian Institution (http://www.si.edu/)

            Social Security Administration (http://www.ssa.gov/)

            U.S. Postal Service (http://www.usps.com/)

 

Health and Nutrition

            HealthInfo Iowa (http://www.healthinfoiowa.org/)

            Medline Plus (http://medlineplus.gov/)

            mediLexicon (http://www.medilexicon.com/)

            Merriam-Webster Medical Dictionary  (http://www.intelihealth.com/IH/ihtIH/WSRNM000/9276/9276.html)

            Medline Plus Men’s Health Issues (http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/menshealth.html)

            Medline Plus Women’s Health Issues (http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/womenshealth.html)

 

Iowa Colleges and Universities

Iowa 4-Year Schools

            Buena Vista University (http://www.bvu.edu/)

            Central College 9http://www.central.edu/)

            Clarke College (http://www.clarke.edu/)

            Coe College (http://www.coe.edu/)

            Cornell College (http://www.cornellcollege.edu/)

            Dordt College (http://www.dordt.edu/)

            Drake University (http://www.drake.edu/)

            Graceland College (http://www.graceland.edu/)

            Grandview College (http://www.gvc.edu/)

            Grinnell College (http://www.grinnell.edu/)

            Iowa State University (http://www.iastate.edu/)

            Iowa Wesleyan College (http://www.iwc.edu/)

            Loras College (http://www.loras.edu/)

            Luther College (http://www.luther.edu/)

            Maharishi University of Management (http://www.mum.edu/)

            Morningside College (http://www.morningside.edu/)

            Mount Mercy College (http://www.mtmercy.edu/)

            St. Ambrose University (http://www.sau.edu/index.php)

            Simpson College (http://www.simpson.edu/)

            University of Dubuque (http://www.dbq.edu/)

            University of Iowa (http://www.uiowa.edu/)

            University of Northern Iowa (http://www.uni.edu/)

            Upper Iowa University (http://www.uiu.edu/)

            Wartburg College (http://www.wartburg.edu/)

            William Penn University (http://www.wmpenn.edu/)

Iowa 2-Year Schools

            Des Moines Area Community College (http://www.dmacc.cc.ia.us/)

            Eastern Iowa Community College (http://www.eicc.edu/)

            Hawkeye Community College (http://www.hawkeye.cc.ia.us/)

            Iowa Central Community College (http://www.iowacentral.com/)

            Iowa Lakes Community College (http://www.ilcc.cc.ia.us/)

            Iowa Valley Community College (http://www.iavalley.cc.ia.us/)

            Iowa Western Community College (http://www.iwcc.cc.ia.us/)

            Kirkwood Community College (http://www.kirkwood.cc.ia.us/)

            North Iowa Area Community College (http://www.niacc.cc.ia.us/)

           Northeast Iowa Community College (http://www.nicc.cc.ia.us/)

           Southeastern Community College (http://www.secc.cc.ia.us/)

           Southwestern Community College (http://www.swcc.cc.ia.us/)

           Western Iowa Tech Community College (http://www.witcc.edu/)

 

Iowa Information

            Code of Iowa (http://www.legis.state.ia.us/IowaLaw.html)

            Iowa Legislation (http://www.legis.state.ia.us/IowaLaw.html)

            Iowa Official Register (Redbook) (http://www.sos.state.ia.us/)

            State Data Center (http://www.iowadatacenter.org/)

            Iowa’s Card Catalog (http://locator.silo.lib.ia.us/cgi-bin/search.cgi)

            State of Iowa (http://www.iowa.gov/state/main/index.html)

            State Library of Iowa (http://www.statelibraryofiowa.org/)

 

Job Seeking

            AfterCollege - Post-Graduate Employment (http://www.aftercollege.com/)

            CareerBuilder.com (http://www.careerbuilder.com/)

            CollegeGrad.com (http://www.collegegrad.com/)

            Dice - Technology-based Employment (http://www.dice.com/)

            Job Hunt (http://www.job-hunt.org/)

            HotJobs (http://hotjobs.yahoo.com/)

            Monster.com (http://www.monster.com/)

            USAJOBS - Government Employment (http://www.usajobs.opm.gov/)

 

Magazines

            Atlantic (http://www.theatlantic.com/)

            Better Homes and Gardens (http://www.bhg.com/)

            BusinessWeek (http://www.businessweek.com/)

            Chronicle of Higher Education (http://chronicle.com/)

            Cosmopolitan (http://www.cosmopolitan.com/)

            Entertainment Weekly (http://www.ew.com/ew)

            Foreign Affairs (http://www.foreignaffairs.org/)

            Journal of the American Medical Association 9http://www.ama-assn.org/)

            Kiplinger’s Online (http://www.kiplinger.com/)

            Ladies Home Journal (http://www.lhj.com/)

            Library Journal (http://www.libraryjournal.com/)

            Living Home Magazine (http://www.livinghome.com/)

            MacWorld (http://www.macworld.com/)

            Mother Jones (http://www.motherjones.com/)

            Money Magazine (http://money.cnn.com/)

            National Geographic (http://www.nationalgeographic.com/)

            National Review (http://www.nationalreview.com/)

            New England Journal of Medicine (http://www.nejm.org/)

            PC Magazine (http://www.pcmag.com/)

            PC World Online (http://www.pcworld.com/)

            Popular Mechanics (http://www.popularmechanics.com/)

            Popular Science (http://www.popsci.com/)

            Prevention (http://www.prevention.com/)

            Today’s Homeowner (http://www.dannylipford.com/)

            U.S. News and World Report (http://www.usnews.com/)

 

Newspapers

Area Newspapers

            Bloomfield Democrat (http://www.bdemo.com/)

            Burlington Hawkeye (http://www.thehawkeye.com/)

            Cedar Rapids Gazette (http://www.gazetteonline.com/)

            Daily Tribune (Ames) (http://www.amestrib.com/)

            Des Moines Register (http://www.desmoinesregister.com/)

            Mason City Globe-Gazette (http://www.globegazette.com/)

            Quad City Times (Davenport) (http://www.qctimes.com/)

            Oskaloosa Herald (http://www.oskaloosaherald.com/)

            Ottumwa Courier (http://www.ottumwacourier.com/)

            Press Citizen (Iowa City) (http://www.press-citizen.com/)

            Times Republican (Marshalltown) (http://www.timesrepublican.com/)

            Waterloo Cedar Falls Courier (http://www.wcfcourier.com/)


International and National Newspapers

           ABC (Spain) (http://www.efe.com/)

           African Newspapers and News (http://www.world-newspapers.com/africa.html)

           Japan Times (http://www.japantimes.co.jp/)

            Los Angeles Daily News (http://www.dailynews.com/)

            Los Angeles Times (http://www.latimes.com/)

            New York Times (http://www.nytimes.com/)

            The Gate (San Francisco Chronicle) (http://www.sfgate.com/)

            The Globe and Mail (Canadian Newspaper) (http://www.theglobeandmail.com/)

            The Sydney Morning Herald (http://www.smh.com.au/)

            USA Today (http://www.usatoday.com/)

            Washington Post (http://www.washingtonpost.com/)

 

Reference

            CIA World Fact Book (https://www.cia.gov/cia/publications/factbook/index.html)

            Statistical Abstract of the United States (http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/)

            FindLaw (http://www.findlaw.com/)

            InfoPlease (http://www.infoplease.com/)

            Online Conversion (http://www.onlineconversion.com/)

            USPS Zip Code Lookup (http://zip4.usps.com/zip4/welcome.jsp)

 

Telephone Directories

            411 Locate (http://www.411locate.com/)

            Qwest (http://www.dexknows.com/)

            Switchboard (http://www.switchboard.com/)

            Yellow Pages (http://www.yellowpages.com/)

 

Television Stations

            ABC (http://abc.go.com/)

            A&E (http://www.aetv.com/)

            Animal Planet (http://animal.discovery.com/)

            C-Span (http://www.c-span.org/)

            CBS (http://www.cbs.com/)

            CNN (http://www.cnn.com/)

            Comedy Central (http://www.comedycentral.com/)

            HBO (http://www.hbo.com/)

            HGTV (http://www.hgtv.com/)

            History Channel (http://www.history.com/)

            MSNBC (http://www.msnbc.msn.com/)

            NBC (http://www.nbc.com/)

            PBS (http://www.pbs.org/)

            Sci-Fi Channel (http://www.scifi.com/)

            Showtime (http://www.showtimeonline.com/)

            Turner Classic Movies (http://www.turnerclassicmovies.com/)

            TBS (http://www.tbs.com/)

            TLC (http://tlc.discovery.com/)

            USA Network (http://www.usanetwork.com/)

            WGN (http://www.wgntv.com/)

            Warner Bros. (http://www.warnerbros.com/)

 

Travel and Weather

            Amtrak (http://www.amtrak.com/)

            Des Moines Airport (http://www.dsmairport.com/)

            Fodor’s Travel Online (http://www.fodors.com/)

            National Geographic (http://www.nationalgeographic.com/)

            National Geographic - Destinations (http://www.nationalgeographic.com/destinations/index.html)

            National Park Service (http://www.nps.gov/)

            Tourism Offices Worldwide (http://www.towd.com/)

            Travel-Library (http://www.travel-library.com/)

            Weather Channel (http://www.weather.com/)